Blush Pink Dress | McCall’s M7536

First off, I’m absolutely in love with this new pattern from McCall’s early spring collection, M7536. Box pleats AND princess seams – sold! But what I also love is how many different combinations can be made from this one pattern. I’ve made it twice now (other dress post coming soon!) and am already thinking of the other combinations that can be made.

I wanted something blush pink, not white, and was so lucky to find this textured but silky fabric that has some metallic threads in it (sorry you can’t really see this in the photos). The pattern doesn’t include the bow, but this is my “kate spade” inspired dress and I wanted a little extra detail. I’ve found that I prefer princess seams so much more than darts – I can get a better fit, and even though there are more pattern pieces I think it’s less work than trying to get all the markings for darts right.

I made this dress speficially for our engagement photos that we had taken last month, and also because I knew there were a few bridal activities that would be coming up in the next few months that I’d need a dress for. This may be one of my new favorite dresses! Here are a few of my favorite shots from the session 🙂

Pattern: McCall’s 7536
Fabric: Nicole Miller Metallic Stretch Chiffon in blush pink. Lined with a cream colored silk lining fabric.
Modifications:
• Shorten bodice front and back
• Shortened and narrowed sleeves
• Narrowed bateau neck and back
• 2-3 inches off length
• Added bow / belt detail to waist

P.S. I’m still working away on my wedding dress, but I won’t be blogging about it until after the wedding. My fiancé warned me not to post anything online because he “didn’t want to curse the marriage” in case he accidentally saw something. I’ll be doing a series on it after the wedding this fall.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beautiful dress and beautiful photos! Congratulations on your engagement too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

