Winter Party Dress | Vogue 9146

The inspiration for this dress was from one I saw on Nordstrom’s website listed at $148. I needed an updated holiday/party dress for the season and was perfect for a wedding I attended over the weekend.

img_0382To make my version of this dress, I used all materials from JoAnn Fabrics – a navy matte charmeuse for the skirt, a champagne colored satin charmeuse  for the bodice underlining, and a navy stretch lace for the bodice overlay. In total, it cost me about $50 for all the fabric. It would have been less if I’d used my coupons better, but I wasn’t paying enough attention – lesson learned!

In addition to the usual adjustments to make the pattern petite, I also changed the bust and back gathers to darts for a smoother finish. The entire dress is fully lined with an invisible zipper. I hand stitched the lace overlay to the champagne fabric so make sure it stayed in place.

One year ago the idea of setting lace sleeve and putting in an invisible zipper would have been daunting. After  lot of trial, error, and practice, it doesn’t seem so bad anymore! It was tedious work at times, but it was fun to be inspired by a dress I saw in stores and making it at a fraction of the cost.

img_8898img_8882img_8895

Pattern: Vogue 9146
Fabric: Navy matte charmeuse, champagne satin charmeuse, navy stretch lace, and navy lining  – all from JoAnn Fabrics
Modifications: 
• Shortened length 3″
• Narrowed shoulder 1/2 ” on front and back bodice
• Didn’t include pockets
• Added a full lining
• Changed bust and back gathers to darts
• Shortened sleeve to be 3/4″

Check out my review on PatternReview.com here 🙂

Leave a Reply

