Button Down Shirt | Butterick B6085

In a few weeks my boyfriend and some friends are going on a week long adventure to an island in Canada. I’m not entirely sure what I’m getting into, but we’re staying at a cabin and I’m sure there will lots of swimming, boating ,and hiking. I made this shirt to be part of wardrobe for the week.

IMG_8664

This light blue gingham shirt was my third attempt at making this pattern. My first try was just to make sure I had the fit right using cheap cotton fabric. My second try was a disaster when I  attached the collar. Third time was the charm! Everything fit the way I wanted to and the collar was a breeze.

IMG_8667

The pattern for this shirt was very fitted, so I cut the side seams straight for a looser fit and only added back darts to shape. Along with the other adjustments for a petite fit, I also toned down the collar because it looked too big.

IMG_8625 (1)

I’m happy with the finished project, as an easy casual look, but too mature for my taste. Next time I’m going to add more shape to it using front darts, while still keeping the side seams straight.

Pattern: Butterick B6085
Fabric: Light Blue Cotton Gingham | Fabric.com
Time to Complete: ∼4 hours
Modifications:
• Narrowed shoulder 1/2″
• Shortened sleeve by 1/2″
• Shortened front and back by 3/4″
• Hemmed 1/2″ instead of 5/8″
• Re-shaped collar to narrow
• Added extra button
• Straightened side seams

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelby says:

    This is super cute emilie!!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    LLOKS REALLY GREAT!!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I like button-downs…like this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

