Making Bias Tape | Flamingo Vacation Shirt | Butterick B6100

My brother started a tradition that whenever we go on vacation, you wear a vacation themed shirt. I found this tropical flamingo print fabric on sale at JoAnn’s for only $5. Perfect for my flamingo obsession and our annual family vacation.

The pattern I used this was Butterick B6100. It’s a super simple top – a pullover with only a few seam lines and darts. I made a few adjustments to the pattern and the fit came out better than I expected. I like the boxy look of it, however next time I make this pattern I’ll probably narrow the neck and shoulders even more than I already did.

IMG_8429

IMG_8433

The newest skill I learned from this project was making bias tap. Since I didn’t want to use a contrasting color, I decided to try to make my own tape out of the extra fabric using a combination of tutorials I found online. To cut, measure, and sew the tape, I followed The Seasoned Homemaker’s tutorial. However, I didn’t have a bias tape maker so I used the “ironing board and pins” method from Bee-Inspired.

IMG_8574

Bias tape is actually pretty quick and easy to make. It only took about 30 minutes to complete. Making it allowed me to use the same patterned fabric as the top and saved me a trip to the store.

IMG_8427

IMG_8292

Pattern: Butterick B6100
Fabric: Flamingo Printed Cotton (JoAnn Fabrics)
Notations: Bias Tape, Button
Time to Complete: 2-3 hours
Modifications: 
• Took 1/2 in”  (1 ” total) from width of front bodice and back bodice
• Shortened length 2-3″
• Narrowed shoulder 1/2 ” on front and back bodice

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

