Lilly Pulitzer Inspired Lemon Dress | Simplicity New Look S6342

One of my best friends is crazy about Lilly Pulitzer. I didn’t really understand her infatuation until she took me to The Pink Pineapple, a Lilly Pulitzer signature store in Fort Meyers, Florida. OMG…the clothes…the prints! After this visit, I’m completely in love with Lilly Pulitzer and was inspired to try making my own “Lilly-inspired” dress.

IMG_8233The shape of a Lilly dress is pretty simple – it’s the fabric and trim that make the dress.  I already had the pattern for the dress in my collection but spent a lot of time searching for just the right fabric. I stumbled upon this lemon printed lawn at JoAnn Fabrics and it’s perfect. Light and summery with a vintage, but modern twist.

IMG_8323

The pattern I used was Simplicity’s New Look 6342. It’s super easy to put together, however I didn’t follow the exact order of the instructions because I added a light blue lining and hand stitched the trim into place on the front.

IMG_8318

IMG_8335

IMG_8338

Pattern: Simplicity New Look 6342
Fabric: Lemon Printed Lawn | 2 yards | JoAnn Fabrics
Light blue lining fabric | 2 yards | JoAnn Fabrics
Notations: White lace trim | 1 yard • 20-22″ invisible zipper
Time to Complete: 6-7 hours (Hand stitched trim and slip stitched hem and lining to to invisible zipper)
Modifications: 
• Took 1/2″  (1 ” total) from width of front and back
• Narrowed shoulder 1/2″
• Added back darts (one of the pattern options includes this, but I added them after the dress was finished)
• Shortened length 2″

 

Leave a Reply

